How to edit and delete chat messages in Zoom App

 

 

 

 

What you can do by editing and deleting sent messages

The search results that recipients see in chat reflect the content of the edited message.
If you edited the message, it will be displayed as “edited.”
The recipient will not receive the notification, but deleted chat content and files can not be viewed within Zoom.

This page explains the following items.

 

  • Edit message
  • Delete message
  • Delete files
  • Delete image
  • Delete GIF

 

Prerequisites

  • Windows s or Mac Zoom client, version 4.1.8826.0925 or higher

 

How to edit a message in Zoom


You can edit the content of the sent messages.

  1. Place the cursor on the message you want to edit and click the arrow.
  2. Select [Edit] .

 

Change the text and click Save.

It will show that all chat participants have been edited.

 

How to delete messages You can delete messages you have sent at any time. Recipients can not view deleted messages.

  1. Place the cursor on the message you want to delete and click the arrow.
  2. Select [Delete] .
  1. The message “Your message has been deleted” is displayed, but the notification is not displayed to other participants.
  1. The chat history will say “You are calling me”.

 

How to delete a file in Zoom

If you sent the file via chat, you can delete it.

The receiver can not view deleted items in Zoom.

  1. Right-click the item you want to delete or click the control.
  2. Select [Delete] .

The message “File deleted” will be displayed, but the notification will not be displayed to other participants. The chat history will show
“You are calling a message”.


Delete image

If you send an image via chat, you can delete it.

The receiver can not use deleted items in Zoom.

  1. Place the cursor on the image with Zoom and click […].
  2. Select [Delete] .
  3. The message “The image has been deleted” is displayed, but the notification is not displayed to other participants.


Delete GIF

If you send a GIF by chat, you can delete that GIF.

Recipients can not view deleted items in Zoom.

  1. Place the cursor on the image with Zoom and click […] . (For PC)
    Press and hold the Zoom GIF image. (For iPhone)
  2.  Select  [Delete] .
  1. The deleted message is displayed, but other participants do not receive notification of that message.

 

Leave a Comment