As soon as the recordings have been processed, you can delete them from your local or cloud storage.
As soon as your local or cloud recordings have been processed, you will be able to delete the MP4, M4A, VTT, CC.VTT, and TXT files that were created. Recordings that are stored locally on your computer can be deleted, whereas recordings that are stored in the Zoom cloud must be deleted through the Zoom web portal.
How to delete local recordings
- Open the Zoom desktop client on your computer and sign in.
- Click on the Meetings tab on the left side of the screen.
- You can find the recorded version of the meeting under the Recorded tab, which can be selected by clicking there.
- On the local recording page, you will be able to view the file path, as well as options to play and delete the recording.
- There is a chance that the recording you are looking for is an online recording if you only see Open as an option.
- It is possible to delete the recording permanently from your computer by clicking on the Delete button.
How to delete cloud recordings
There are three different types of cloud recordings in your account: all recordings in your searches, all recordings in your cloud recordings, and recordings for a specific meeting. Whether a user or an administrator deletes a user or their cloud recordings, you may wonder what happens to their cloud recordings when they do that.
- The Zoom web portal can be accessed by logging in to your account.
- Choose one of the following options from the navigation menu:
- Admin: In the Account Management section, click Recording Management, and then click Manage Recordings.In the account, you will see a list of cloud recordings that you have made.
- User: In the Recordings menu, click the Recordings button.
- Your cloud recordings will be displayed in a list for you to choose from.
- You can delete recordings by following one of the following methods:
How to delete cloud recordings by meeting ID (select recordings)
- Recording management can be accessed from this page.
- You can search for a specific ID by selecting the Search by ID option next to the search box.
- By entering the meeting ID in the search box, you will be able to find the meeting.
- You can delete the record by clicking More then Delete in the last column.
- In order to move the recordings to the trash, you must click Yes to confirm your decision.
How to delete all cloud recordings in a search results
- Management of recordings can be accessed from this page.
- After entering the desired date range and searching criteria, click the Search button to begin the search process.
- In the header row of the table, there is a check box that can be clicked to check the box.
- To delete the selected items, click on the Delete Selected button.
- The recordings will then be moved to the trash if you click Yes to confirm.
How to delete all cloud recordings
- Recording management can be accessed through this page.
- You will need to adjust the date range and status before clicking the Search button.
- From: Do not fill in any information.
- To:Please select the date of today.
- Select All Status from the Status drop-down menu.
- In the header row of the table, there is a check box that needs to be checked.
- Click on the Delete Selected button.
- The recordings will be moved to the trash after you click yes to confirm.
How to delete specific cloud recording files
- Recording management can be accessed here.
- To delete recording files from a meeting topic, click the topic you wish to delete the recordings from.
- If you hover over the recording files listed below as part of the section, The recording includes the files listed below, then you will be able to click the trash bin icon under that section.
- The recordings will automatically be moved to the trash if you click Yes to confirm.
How to schedule cloud recordings for auto-deletion
A cloud recording can be scheduled to be automatically deleted after a specific number of days based on a specified time period. We perform an auto-deletion process only once a day, and because of this, it is possible that the recordings may not be eligible for the auto-deletion process when it occurs on our servers, because there are only a few days left in the day. Thus, it is common for the auto-deletion to take place one day after the specified amount of days has passed.
If a user deletes their cloud recordings or if an admin deletes a user, what happens to the files in the cloud? Find out what happens to them when these events occur.
- Sign in to the Zoom web portal by entering your email address and password.
- You can choose one of the following actions from the navigation menu:
- Changing the settings for the entire account can be done by clicking Account Management then Account Settings if you are the owner or admin of the account.
- Admins and account owners who wish to change settings for a group of users should click User Management then Group Management, and then choose the appropriate group name from the list if you are doing so.
Note:You may notice that the Group Management page has been renamed to Groups if you signed up for a new Zoom account after August 21, 2021; or you have enabled the New Admin Experience on your Zoom account.
- Click on Settings if you are a licensed host.
- Go to the Recording tab and click on it.
- Using the toggle switch, you can enable or disable the option to delete cloud recordings after a specified number of days. The number of days should be specified.
- The change will be verified by clicking Enable or Disable if a verification dialog appears.
Note:Grayed out options indicate that they have been locked at the account level and need to be changed at that level if they are grayed out.
- Alternatively, if you wish to prevent users from changing a setting on your account or group, click the lock icon in the sidebar of the window, followed by the Lock button. This will prevent them from changing the setting on your account or group.
How to delete cloud recordings from your trash folder
In the top-right corner of the recording management page, click the Trash icon to view files that have been thrown away. Cloud-recording storage limits do not apply to files that are being thrown away in the trash. It is likely that there are no files in your trash if you do not have access to the Trash option. When a user deletes a cloud recording, or when an administrator deletes a user, here is what happens to the files that are associated with those recordings.
How to delete cloud recordings from your trash folder by meeting ID
- In the search box, enter the meeting ID and click the search button.
- To delete an individual meeting, click the Delete button to the right of the meeting name. There is also the option to use the checkboxes to select several meetings, then click the Delete button to delete them all.
How to delete all cloud recordings from your trash folder
- On the top-right side of the screen, you will find a button that says Empty Trash.
- In order to delete all the files permanently, you must click on Empty in order to confirm your decision.
How to recover cloud recordings from your trash folder
There is a possibility that you can recover cloud recordings from your trash folder. If you are an administrator or a user deleting a user from the cloud, you need to know what happens to the cloud recording files when that occurs.