This post was most recently updated on July 23rd, 2022
To allow users to pick an available meeting platform each time during a meeting, you can set Zoom as your default meeting provider or disable Google Meet as your default meeting provider in the admin console.
Prerequisites for managing the default meeting service
- Google Admin Console access for the account owner or admin of the account
How to disable Google Meet as your default provider
Google announced on October 15, 2020, that they would be bringing Google Meet to their calendar service as the default meeting provider in cases where more than one video conferencing provider is available.
Turn off Google Meet as your default meeting provider if you need to select a new meeting provider each time you want to attend a meeting. In Google’s documentation, you will find details on how to disable Google Meet for everyone in your organization.
How to set Zoom as your default for video conferencing
You should set Zoom as your default meeting application if you always use Zoom for meetings.
- Make sure that Google Meet is not enabled for everyone in the Google Admin dashboard.
- In the Google Workspace Marketplace, you can find Zoom for Google Workspace as a search result, which can be installed for all users.
- You can access your Google Calendar, from the Google Admin console dashboard, by going to Apps > Google Workspace > Calendar.
- To access your video conferencing settings, click on Sharing settings.
- The next time you create an event, you can add video calls to it automatically by selecting the checkbox next to it.
- You will need to save it.
Frequently asked questions about using defaults
We only use Zoom and don’t have Google Meet enabled on our site. How will this impact us?
You do not need to take any action at this point if you do not have Google Meet enabled. If Google Meet is not enabled, there will be no change.
Zoom is our standard, but some of our employees need to use Google Meet sometimes. What action do we need to take?
The meeting platform can be disabled as the default and your users will be able to select which meeting platform they will use everytime they meet.