How to use screen reader alerts in Zoom App

If you choose to disable screen reader alerts, you will be able to systematically hear when specific actions, like the host muting the audio or when a closed captioning is active, or your screen reader has notified you that you have received a message via IM, have been performed in Zoom. The screen reader can be configured to announce only those alerts you want it to.

Prerequisites for using screen reader alerts on Zoom

  • Installed a screen reader
    Note: It’s possible to use the built-in screen reader of your operating system (for example, Windows 10 Narrator or MacOS VoiceOver) if you don’t have a screen reader.
  • Zoom desktop client
    • For Windows: 5.2.1 or higher
    • For macOS: 5.2.1 or higher

Enabling or disable screen reader alerts

  1. Log in to the Zoom desktop application using the Zoom desktop application.
  2. Then, select the “Settings” option from the drop-down menu.
  3. Select “Accessibility” from the drop-down menu.
  4. To enable or disable each alert, you need to check the box next to it.

Available screen reader alerts

In order to disable or enable the following alerts, you’ll need to check the box beneath them. You can disable the alerts by ticking the box.

Windows | macOS

There is a screen reader alert that appears on various devices running macOS and Windows. You can receive some alerts only as the meeting host, for example, when a participant joins or leaves a meeting, or when a participant raises or lowers his or her hand, or when the meeting has ended.

  • IM Chat Received: You will be alerted via email with the sender’s name, number of unread messages, and if the message was opened or not.
  • Participant Has Joined/Left Meeting (Host Only): The alert will state which participant joined or left the meeting, in addition to their profile name.
  • Participant Has Joined/Left Waiting Room (Host Only): This alert will indicate the name of the participant who has joined or left the waiting room.
  • Audio Muted by Host: No name of the host will be indicated in the alert.
  • Video Stopped by Host: There will be no indication of the host’s name in the alert.
  • Screen Sharing Started/Stopped by a Participant: When the alert is displayed, the participant who started the screen sharing will be named
  • Recording Permission Granted/Revoked: A notification will be played whenever the host or co-host grants you access to the local recorder or revokes it.
  • Public In-Meeting Chat Received
  • Private In-Meeting Chat Received
  • In-meeting File Upload Completed
  • Closed Captioning Is Available
  • Closed Captioning Typing Privilege Granted/Revoked
  • Host privilege Granted/Revoked: The alert will state the name of the new host when you are the host, but you have granted someone else host privileges.
  • Co-host Privilege Granted/Revoked: There will be no indication as to which host granted or revoked the co-host privileges in the alert.
  • Remote Control Permission Granted/Revoked
  • Participant Has Raised/Lowered Hand (Host only)

Windows

Only Windows users will be able to receive these screen reader alerts.

  • Livestream Started/Stopped
  • Q&A Question Received
  • Q&A Answer Received
  • Role Changed to Panelist
  • Role Changed to Attendee

Using screen reader alerts with Zoom

Before you begin using Zoom, be sure to turn on your screen reader first. Your screen reader will play a sound preceding one of the above actions when one of the above actions is performed.