Using a waiting room with Zoom Rooms

This post was most recently updated on July 22nd, 2022

Using the waiting room feature, a host can control when participants join a meeting, so they can be able to control when they join. If you are hosting a meeting, you have the option of admitting attendees one by one or all at once.

Prerequisites for using a waiting room with Zoom Rooms

  • Zoom Rooms version 5.0.5 or higher
  • Waiting room enabled in the Zoom web portal
  • Meeting host

How to enable or disable waiting room during a Zoom Rooms meeting

  1. It is the meeting host’s responsibility to manage the participants of the meeting.
  2. In the participants’ window, tap the More tab and select the Put Attendee in Waiting Room on Entry option to enable the feature.
  3. The feature can be disabled by tapping More again and then selecting Disable Waiting Room in order to turn it off.

How to admit participants during a Zoom Rooms meeting

  1. It is the host’s responsibility to manage the participants of the meeting.
  2. In order to have the participant join the meeting, they need to tap on the Admit button.

How to admit all participants from the waiting room during a Zoom Rooms meeting

  1. Tap Manage Participants as the meeting host in order to manage the meeting participants.
  2. Click the “Admit all” button.

How to send participants to the waiting room during a Zoom Rooms meeting

  1. Tap Manage Participants if you are the meeting host.
  2. After you have selected the participant’s name, you will have to tap on the Put in Waiting Room button.