In order to join a meeting from the Zoom web client, account owners and admins can decide whether or not they require participants to authenticate. Only authenticated users can join meetings and webinars from the Web client. This security option restricts the access of meeting attendees and webinar attendees to only those who are signed in. It is useful if you wish to limit the users on your participant list to those who have been verified by your company.
When this setting is enabled, participants who do not have a Zoom account will not be able to join the meeting or webinar if they do not have a Zoom account.
There are some prerequisites that must be met in order for only authenticated users to be permitted to join meetings from the Web client
- there are four types of account Pro, Business, Education, or Enterprise account
- for the Zoom desktop client:
- Windows: 5.0.0 (23168.0427) or higher
- macOS: 5.0.0 (23161.0427) or higher
- for the Zoom mobile app:
- Android: 5.0.0 (23161.0427) or higher
- iOS: 5.0.0 (23161.0427) or higher
If only authenticated users are permitted to attend meetings from the Web client, what needs to be enabled or disabled
For all users in the account, the following setting needs to be enabled or disabled: “Only authenticated users can join meetings from the Web client”:
- If you are an account admin, you will have the privilege to edit the settings of your account on the Zoom web portal.
- You need to access the Account Management section of the Zoom web portal, and then select Account Settings.
- Click on the Meetings tab.
- You can enable or disable the feature so that only authenticated users can join and participate in meetings via the Web client by clicking on the toggle that says Only authenticated users can join and participate in meetings via the Web client.
- You can confirm the changes by clicking on Enable or Disable if a verification dialog appears.
- Click the lock icon , confirming your settings by clicking the Lock to confirm the setting. If you wish to make this setting mandatory for all users in your account, please click the Lock icon.
In order to enable or disable a group of users from joining meetings from their Web client only authenticated users can be selected:
- As an admin, you will have access to the Zoom web portal as well as the group editing privileges.
- Navigate to the User Management section and then click on Group Management.
- Click on the appropriate group from the list that appears.
- Next, click on the Meetings tab.
- In the security option, you will find a toggle next to Only authenticated users can join meetings from the Web client. By clicking this toggle, you can enable or disable the feature.
- To verify that the changes have been made, you may need to click the Enable or Disable button in the verification dialog.
- Grayed out options indicate that they have been locked at the account level and that they need to be changed below that level.
- Click the lock icon (optional) if you want to make this setting mandatory for all users in the group by ticking the Lock box after selecting all users and then clicking Lock to confirm the setting.
When enabling or disabling Only authenticated users are permitted to join meetings from the Web client for your own use you may do the following:
- Log in to the Zoom web portal by using your email address and password.
- On the left side of the screen, click Settings.
- From the left side of the screen, click Meetings.
- The only authenticated users can join meetings from the Web client toggle can be found under Security. Click the button to enable or disable that option.
- The confirmation dialog that displays can be used to verify the change by clicking Enable or Disable.
- In the case of greyed out options, that means that they have been locked at either the group or account level. Zoom administrators need to be contacted to unblock them.