How to disable desktop screen sharing in meetings in Zoom

This post was most recently updated on July 22nd, 2022

The administrators and account owners have been able to set the screen sharing to take place only when applications are selected, so that the host or participants cannot share the entire desktop. If this option is enabled, users can only share certain applications and files even when it has been enabled by other users. Account owners and admins will find this option useful since it allows them to control what participants see and do on their screen, so they are able to limit screen sharing to particular applications rather than the entire desktop.

Prerequisites for disabling desktop screen sharing

  •  To Zoom desktop client for Windows, 4.6.0 (13610.1201) or higher
  • To Zoom desktop client for macOS, 4.6.0 (13614.1202) or higher
  • You must have account owner or account administrator privileges

How to Enable Disable desktop screen sharing for meetings you host

Account

For users who belong to the same account, you can disable desktop screen sharing from all users in your account when you host meetings:

  1. As an admin, you are given the privileges to edit account settings when you log in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. Click on Account Management, then Account Settings from the navigation panel.
  3. Click on the Meetings tab.
  4. Make sure that you have activated the option for Disable desktop screen sharing for meetings you host under In Meeting (Basic).
  5. You may need to toggle the option on if the setting is not enabled. To make sure that the change has been verified, if a confirmation dialog box appears, click Turn On button.
  6. For users in your account who want this feature to be mandatory, you can click the Lock icon . Before clicking Lock to confirm the setting, be sure you are in the correct account.

Group

Note:Upon registering for a Zoom account for the first time after August 21, 2021, or upon enabling the New Administrator Experience on your account, the Group Management page will be renamed to Groups.

For conferences you host for a group of users, you can disable the desktop sharing function by following this tutorial:

  1. As an administrator you will be allowed to edit a group of participants in the Zoom web portal once you have logged in.
  2. Click Group Management under User Management on the left side of the screen.
  3. You will be taken to a list of groups. Click on the name of the relevant group and go to the Setup tab.
  4. From there click on Meetings.
  5. You need to ensure that you have enabled Disable desktop screen sharing for meetings that you host in In Meeting (Basic).
  6. This setting needs to be enabled for meetings that you host in In Meeting (Basic). The dialog box will appear if you need to verify that the changes have been made. Click Turn On if the dialog box appears.
    Note: There may be some information grayed out on an option since it is locked per account level, so it needs to be changed at that level.
  7. The lock icon is an optional setting, that you can use if you want to make this setting mandatory for all group members. To confirm the setting, click Lock to confirm.

User

Disable desktop screen sharing for meetings that you host on your own computer: You can do this by following the steps below:

  1. Sign into the Zoom web portal by entering your email address and password.
  2. Then, click Settings in the navigation panel.
  3. Then, click the Meeting tab.
  4. Check the box next to Disable desktop screen sharing for meetings that you host under In Meeting (Basic).
  5. Whether it is disabled or enabled depends on the setting that you have chosen. It is advisable to verify the change by clicking the Turn On button that appears if a verification dialog box appears.
    Note: Grayed-out options mean that either the group level or the account level of the option has been locked. Please contact Zoom Support if you need assistance.

Note: If the setting is enabled, then the User will not be able to share their screen during meetings, and the User will be unable to share their screen using the Desktop option (under Advanced Options and Sharing)