Account owners and admins can enable a setting at the group or account level requiring that when users watch a video they have a Virtual Background. The video will be turned off if the user’s system isn’t capable of supporting Virtual Backgrounds.
A virtual background can only be used if the following conditions are met:
- Virtual Background must be compatible with the system requirements of the user’s computer
- Zoom requires the Zoom desktop application for Windows, macOS, or Linux with version 5.6.6 or greater
- Video will not be able to start for users with a client version lower than 5.6.6
If you would like to use Virtual Background for all the users in your account, please do the following:
- As an administrator, you will need to sign in to the Zoom web portal so that you can edit your account settings.
- You can do so by clicking on Account Management in the navigation menu, followed by Account Settings.
- The virtual background can be accessed from the ‘In Meeting’ section of the meeting tab once you have accessed it and verified it is enabled within the ‘Advanced’ section.
Note: This setting is disabled by default, you will need to enable it by clicking the toggle. The change will be verified by clicking on Enable if a verification dialog appears.
- (Optional) Should the user in question wish to make this setting mandatory for all users within their account, they should click the lock icon, and then click Lock to confirm the setting.
- To confirm the changes, check the box that reads Require users to use virtual background whenever possible, and then click Save.
Those who created Zoom accounts after August 21, 2021, or who enabled the New Admin Experience, will see the Group Management page renamed to Groups.
All members of a group must have a Virtual Background:
- Edit user groups in Zoom by logging in as an administrator.
- Click on the User Management in the main navigation menu.
- You can access meeting settings by clicking the group’s name, then clicking the Meeting tab.
- The Virtual Background option can be accessed under the Meeting tab. Be sure that the setting is enabled.
- It is recommended that you go ahead and enable it if it is disabled. After clicking the Enable button, you will see a message that confirms the change.
- This occurs if the setting is greyed out, with the Account level locked to it. To change this setting, you will need to go the Account level.
- Choosing the Lock button, and then clicking Lock to confirm your decision is an optional step if you want all users of this group to have this setting as mandatory.
- Make sure you check Require users to always use virtual background, and then click Save to confirm the change.