This post was most recently updated on July 23rd, 2022
A privacy feature can be enabled by account owners or administrators for shared line groups or shared line appearances (call delegation) on their account. It is possible for members of a shared group and members of a shared appearance to lock a call, which makes it impossible for others to take over a held call, listen in, whisper, or barge in on them.
This article covers:
- How to enable or disable privacy mode for shared line groups
- How to enable or disable privacy mode for shared line appearance (call delegation)
Prerequisites for enabling or disabling privacy mode
- Ownership or administrative privileges of the account
- License for Zoom Phone
- Setting up shared lines or delegating calls according to your needs
If you wish to enable privacy mode (lock the call) on your phone, you must have the Zoom desktop client or the Zoom mobile app version 5.7.6 or higher. Desk phones are not capable of supporting this feature.
How to enable or disable privacy mode for shared line groups
- Using the Zoom web portal, sign in to your account.
- Navigate to Phone System Management and click Shared Lines.
- To view shared line groups, click the tab Shared Line Groups.
- You can select a shared line group by clicking its name.
- If the check box next to Privacy is selected, members will be able to lock the call while on the call.
The following will be prevented if the call is locked:
- Members cannot pick up held calls if they place them on hold.
- Listening, whispering, barging, or taking over the call is not allowed by other phone users.
How to enable or disable privacy mode for shared line appearance (call delegation)
- Zoom’s web portal can be accessed by logging in.
- You can access Shared Lines through the Navigation menu.
- Select the Appearance tab for Shared Lines.
- The details of a call delegation setup can be viewed by clicking the Details button.
- You can lock a call while in a call by checking the box next to Privacy.
If the delegator places the call on hold, other phone users cannot pick up the call. If the call is locked, no other phone users can pick up the call.