Your organization can purchase a Zoom account if you want to give your users access to more features as well as more licensing options. It is possible that you are finding some users in your business who are using Zoom with individual accounts within your organization if you have not invited them to join your Zoom account yet. The best way to allow these users to use your account is to invite them to your organization’s parent account, so they have access to all of the benefits that come with it. Individuals who spend a lot of money on subscriptions will receive a refund depending on the remaining time of their subscription after they accept your invitation.
What are the requirements for adding users to a paid account?
- Admin or Owner access
- Paid account
The process of adding users to a web site
- Login to your Zoom account by clicking on the link below.
- After clicking on User Management, click on Users.
- Next, click Add Users.
- You will need to enter details regarding the user or users. When done, click Add Users. In the event that users are invited to join your account, an email will be sent inviting them to do so. On the User Management page, you can go to the Pending section and check whether the invitation is still awaiting acceptance by clicking on the Pending link.
- You must have an existing email address that is able to receive emails from outside the organization.
- You can find further information about these specific requirements in this article.
How to invite users in the best way possible
- If you are interested in a quick guide to help you get started in this process, there is an attachment at the end of this page.
- Before an invite is sent out to an individual user, Zoom strongly encourages owners/admins to get in touch with that user and let them know what to expect and why they are receiving an invitation.
- As such, you should be aware that if you are inviting individual licensed users to join your paid account as Basic users, they will lose access to the advanced features which have been available to licensed users, including recording to the cloud and meeting lengths exceeding 40 minutes. Licenses can be assigned to basic users later on if necessary.
- The functionality of Single Sign-On and Associated Domains is also available to users when they are added.
- An email with a confirmation of the credit amount will be sent to you if the prorated credit of an invited user is being transferred to your account. You will be able to apply this credit automatically to future invoices, if your account is set up for autopay. It is possible to apply your Net terms credit to an open invoice by contacting Billing by chat if your account has Net terms.
The process of accepting an invitation by a user
- You will receive an email similar to this one when each new member is invited to your account:
- In order for the user to accept the invitation, he or she needs to click the hyperlink or paste it into a browser.
- When joining a paid account, the user will be able to choose if they would like to receive a prorated refund for their paid subscription back to their own payment method or if they would like to transfer the prorated credit balance to the new account they are joining.
- It is not the prorated credit or refund amount that is shown on your Account Balance, but it is the current amount on your account. There will be no possibility of you joining another account if you have any outstanding invoices that need to be paid.
- After the above steps have been completed, the user can sign in as before by going to Zoom.us and navigating to the user account page. At this point, the user is a member of the account for which their organization is responsible.
- The refund will be sent to the original payment method if you selected that option. If you selected that option, the refund should appear within 3-5 business days on your original payment method.
- Unless you have already deleted, unlinked, or invited the other account owner to your account, it is unlikely that you will be able to accept the invitation from the other account owner due to error 1009. You may have a Zoom Room that needs to be deleted before accepting the invitation, or you may need to delete a Zoom Room on the Zoom Rooms page.
- The first time you plan to accept an invitation to create a new account in the future, you will be informed that if you requested a cancellation on your account prior to accepting the invitation, that you must remove the request before you can accept the new invitation. You may reactivate your plan by clicking the Reactivate button on the Billing page. If you successfully accept the invitation to the new account after your account has been reactivated, you will be credited with the portion of your plan not used, and then you will receive a prorated refund for the unused portion of your plan.
- After you accept the invitation and join the account, the following information will be transferred to your account:
- Information about your profile (name, profile picture, time zone, etc.)
- When meetings and webinars are scheduled
- Recordings in the cloud
- Instant messaging history
- for contacts
- in settings
If your settings conflict with those of the account you are joining or with those of the group, they may be altered. As licenses, such as large meetings or webinars, cannot be transferred, an admin on the new account should be able to assign them to the new account. The data from the reporting system will also not be transferred, so it is recommended that anyone who wishes to accept the invitation to the account download any necessary reports prior to accepting. Although it is true that the user’s history of IM messages is transferred to the new account, it is not available to the administrators of the new account in the same way the history of IMs from before the account was created is not accessible to the administrator of the new account.
- You will not receive any changes in meeting and webinar IDs when creating or signing up with a vanity URL that is different from the one you are using. The join links will be updated to reflect the new vanity URL, causing attendees who join a meeting with an old vanity URL to be notified of the meeting’s loss of association with the old vanity URL, which may cause further confusion. If you want to avoid this, you can resend registration confirmation emails and update the calendar events with the updated join URL, or email any guests about the update.