Requiring users to update Zoom

Account administrators and owners are able to specify the minimum version of the Zoom desktop client or mobile app that users with older versions of those clients or apps must update to. The feature can be applied to only internal users, as well as to external participants who are invited to external meetings. It can also be configured at a group level for granular control of access across various groups.

Depending on the version of the client or app, you will see a percentage of users that are using each version in the Dashboard.

During the registration process or when users try to initiate a meeting or webinar, this setting is enforced. If users are not up-to-date on their operating system and want to sign in or start the meeting or webinar, they will be prompted to do so.

What are the prerequisites for requiring a specific version of the software?

  • If you are the owner or admin of the account, you have the following privileges:
  • The credit card account, the business account, the education account, the enterprise account, or the API account are all free
  • For the setting to work properly, Zoom desktop clients or mobile apps are required to be used on Windows, macOS, iOS, Android, or VDI on Windows or macOS.

Account

To force all users to upgrade their clients or apps at the same time:

  1. As an administrator, you can access and edit the account settings of the Zoom web portal by signing in.
  2. Navigate to Account Management from the left navigation pane, then Account Settings.
  3. Select Meetings from the left navigation pane.
  4. Make sure that you have enabled the option Require users to update the client in the Admin Options window.
  5. For each client or application, you can specify a minimum version number.
  6. You can enable the setting by clicking the toggle next to the setting. You will be asked to verify the change by clicking Enable after a verification dialog box appears.
  7. (Optional) If you wish to restrict access to this setting to all users in your account, click the Lock icon, and then click the Lock button to confirm this setting.
See also  How to Configure the Zoom VDI Linux plugin with ZoomMedia.ini in Zoom App

Group

Note:

As of August 21, 2021, the New Admin Experience on your account will be able to be enabled if you created a new Zoom account after August 21, 2021. However, the Manage Groups page has been renamed to Manage Groups.

A group of users must update the client or application in order to be able to use it:

  1. If you are an admin with the privilege to edit group membership on the Zoom web portal, you should sign in to it.
  2. Click User Management then click Group Management in the navigation panel.
  3. Select the relevant group from the list that appears.
  4. Click Meeting in the left-hand navigation panel.
  5. To enable or disable Required users to update the client under Other, you will have to toggle the switch.
  6. To verify that the change has been made, click Enable or Disable if a verification dialog appears.
    Note:
  7. If there is a grayed out option, it means the option has been locked at the account level, and needs to be changed at the account level.
  8. Make sure each client or application uses at least the minimum version required.
  9. For users in the group, clicking the lock icon will prevent them from changing this setting. You can confirm the lock by clicking Lock to confirm the change.