Allowing participants/panelists to rejoin in Zoom App

This post was most recently updated on July 22nd, 2022

If you remove a meeting participant, a webinar attendant, or a webinar panelist from a live meeting, they will not be able to rejoin the live session using the same email address, but they will be able to rejoin the conference at a later date if they have an active meeting subscription. We can adjust this behavior so that removed participants are able to rejoin the session, however the live session will not be affected right away because it will need to be stopped and restarted before the new behavior is observed.

Re-admission of participants or panelists who have been removed from the panel is subject to certain prerequisites

  • If you have admin or account owner privileges, you are able to allow removed panelists or meeting participants to rejoin the group or account you belong to

The steps you need to take to allow participants who have been removed from meetings or webinars to join again

Notes:

  • Attendees of webinars are not affected by this setting. By accessing the web portal, you can enable attendees who have been removed from a webinar to join again.
  • If a meeting or webinar has already started, you will be unable to change the setting. In order for the change to take effect, the session must be stopped and restarted.

Account

You can allow members of your organization to join your organization if you are the account administrator:

  1. As an administrator with the privilege to edit the account settings on the Zoom web portal, you should sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. You will find Account Management on the left side of the page, followed by Account Settings.
  3. Click on the Meetings tab.
  4. Check that the Allow left-out participants to rejoin option is checked under In-Meeting (Basic).
  5. Click the lock icon and then click Lock when you are done to confirm your setting if you want everyone in your account to have this setting.

Group

Note:

After August 21, 2021, the Group Management page has been renamed to Groups. This is a requirement if you have just created a Zoom account after that date and the New Admin Experience is enabled.

  1. If you are an administrator, you will be able to edit the groups you administer via the Zoom web portal.
  2. Just click on the Manage Users link from the navigation menu, followed by Manage Groups.
  3. Select which group you wish to manage.
  4. Select Meetings from the left-hand menu.
  5. Verify that the option Allow removed participants to rejoin is checked under In-Meeting (Basic).
    Note:
  6. Having grayed out options means that the terms and conditions have been locked at the account level, and these terms and conditions must be changed at that level.
  7. You might like to make this setting mandatory for all members of this group if you do not want others to be able to make any changes. When you click the lock icon and then click Lock, the setting becomes mandatory.

User

Please follow the steps below in order to enable participants removed from meetings to rejoin them for your own use:

  1. Login to the Zoom website by clicking on the Login link.
  2. After you’ve logged in, click on the Settings link.
  3. Navigate to the Meetings tab and click Submit.
  4. Make sure that the option Allow removed participants to rejoin is selected in the In-Meeting (Basic) section.
    Note:
  5. It will be grayed out, meaning that it cannot be accessed at the group or account level, and that you will have to contact your Zoom administrator.

Allowing removed webinar attendees to rejoin

The web portal allows you to allow attendees to re-join the webinar in case they were removed from one during the webinar (with or without registration).

  1. Log in to the Zoom web portal by entering your email and password.
  2. Select Webinars from the menu on the left hand side.
  3. Next, select the topic you want to edit from the list on the left hand side.
  4. Under Manage Attendees in the Invitations tab, select Edit under the Attendees section.
  5. Note:
  6. In order for the Manage Attendee‘s section to appear, attendees must first be removed from the event.
  7. To allow the attendee to rejoin the meeting, click the OK button next to their name. The check boxes also allow you to select multiple attendees, and the approval button will be located at the bottom of the pop-up window.