Emailing hosts when attendees join first in Zoom meeting

This post was most recently updated on July 22nd, 2022

Emailing hosts when attendees join first

Whenever participants join a Zoom meeting before the host receives an email notification, the host gets notified. The host gets prompted to participate when they receive the notification email.

There will only be one recipient of this email, and that will be the meeting host. The meeting host receives this email notification when:

  • Attendees are waiting for the host of the meeting to start the meeting
  • If the setting for joining before the host has been enabled, an attendee has joined the meeting before the meeting’s host.

Note:In the event this option is selected, this email will be sent to all attendees from the moment they join the meeting, even if it happens at a time other than the scheduled meeting time. Attendees who open the link in advance to test or who accidentally join at the wrong time will have an email sent to them if they click on the link too early to test.

Prerequisites for enabling notifications for hosts

  • An account owner or administrator has the following privileges:

How to enable email notifications for hosts when attendees join first

Account

Result: All users in the account will be enabled or disabled when attendees join meetings before the host:

  1. As an admin of the Zoom web portal, you have the right to make changes to your account settings.
  2. You can do so by clicking on Account Management in the navigation menu and then clicking Account Settings.
  3. Select Meeting from the drop-down list.
  4. You can choose whether or not to enable the When attendees join a meeting before the host toggle under Email Notification.
  5. In the event that a verification dialog appears, click Enable or Disable in order to confirm the changes that have been made.
  6. Click on the lock icon, then confirm it by clicking Lock to confirm the setting. (Optional) You can make this setting mandatory for all users in your account by clicking the lock icon.

Group

When attending users join a meeting before the host, you can either enable or disable the following:

  1. The Zoom web portal is accessible to administrators with the ability to edit Contacts and Channels . You can add contacts, create contact groups by signing in as an admin.
  2. To access the Zoom web portal, click User Management, then select Groups from the navigation menu.
  3. You will then need to click on the name of the relevant group.
  4. You will then be taken to the Meetings tab.
  5. You can enable or disable this feature from the Email Notification page by clicking on the toggle next to When attendees join before host.
  6. Click Enable or Disable if a verification dialog appears in order to verify that the change has occurred.
    Note: It is likely that the option you are trying to do has been restricted at the account level and needs to be changed at that level.
  7. You may click the lock icon (optional) if you want to make this setting mandatory for all users in that group. You must then click Lock to confirm that you wish to make this setting mandatory.

User

When attendees join the meeting prior to the host, here‘s how to enable/disable this functionality for your own use:

  1. Log into the Zoom web portal by entering your username and password.
  2. Then, click the Settings link in the navigation bar.
  3. Select Meeting from the drop-down list.
  4. Click the toggle to enable or disable When attendees join meeting before host under the Email Notification section.
  5. Verify the change by clicking the Enable or Disable button if a verification dialog appears.
    Note:There is a possibility that the option has been restricted either at the group level or at the account level, if it is grayed out. You should contact the Zoom administrator to resolve this issue.