How to Upgrade Zoom to the latest version

This post was most recently updated on July 28th, 2022

In order to release new features and fix bugs, Zoom releases new versions of its desktop client and mobile app regularly. To receive the best video and audio experience, we recommend upgrading when the latest version is available.

To stay updated on the latest Zoom changes, check out our release notes to see what version you’re currently running.

How to download the newest Zoom changes

Upgrade the Zoom desktop client for Windows, macOS, or Linux

If a new mandatory or optional update is published within 24 hours following the login, Zoom notifies the user with a pop-up message.

The Zoom desktop client may already be installed on your computer. If so, check for updates:

  • Zoom will download and install the latest version if there is one.

Note: By default, the desktop client is disabled by default if it was installed by your team or you using the MSI installer. The Zoom account administrator or your IT team will be able to assist you.

You can also download the latest version manually by:

  • Go to https://zoom.us/download and click the link.
  • You can also access the following directly:
    • https://zoom.us/support/download
    • https://zoom.us/download
    • https://zoom.us/download2

Upgrade the Zoom mobile app for iOS or Android

Zoom is available on Google Play and the App Store.

Get it on Google Play Download on the App Store

Note: When there is a new update, Zoom displays a mobile notification.

Types of Zoom updates

A web-only update, a mandatory update, and an optional update are three types of updates.

  • Web-only: New fixes are available from the web portal for download, which have been tested, and are available for download.
  • Mandatory: After you click the update button, these updates will begin automatically. After you click the update button, these updates will begin automatically.
  • Optional: Once you click the update button, these updates will begin automatically. If you decide to postpone the update until later on and manually update at a later time, you can still proceed.

Note: The next time you login, you will be prompted to update only if you choose to postpone taking part in the optional update.