Using SMS with call queues or auto receptionists In Zoom App

Users may send or receive SMS messages using numbers associated with call queues or automatic receptionists (e.g. the main automatic receptionist, only if enabled by an admin) via their phones if an admin has enabled the feature. If you are a member of a group, you will be able to view SMS messages sent to the entire group via this feature. Essentially, all other members will be prevented from replying to any conversation that you reply to, as that particular conversation will remain private. Alternatively, you can release a discussion for other members to respond to.

It is possible to view SMS messages sent to the team phone number by all members, for example, if the admin has created a customer service team (call queue) and enabled SMS for it. Customer service representatives will receive an SMS notification when they receive a text message from a customer. Whenever a customer needs assistance, any representative can reply to them.

Note:

Zoom Phone Power Pack must be installed on your computer to use the feature.

Prerequisites for using SMS with call queue or auto receptionist phone numbers

  • Licenses that include Zoom Phone Pro features (Zoom Phone licenses)
  • Add-on Zoom Phone Power Pack
  • Version 5.7.0 or higher of the Zoom desktop client or Zoom mobile app
  • Version 5.7.0 or higher of the Zoom desktop client or Zoom mobile app
  • Your admin must set up SMS setup for the call queue or auto receptionist by the time version 5.7.0 or higher of the Zoom desktop client or Zoom mobile app
  • Is available

How to receive messages

Whenever you receive an SMS message, it will show up in the SMS tab just like any regular SMS message.  How to access SMS:

  1. Then sign in via the desktop client of Zoom, or the mobile app if you have one.
  2. Go to the Phone tab and click or tap it.
  3. Select the SMS tab by clicking or tapping it.

As long as you have enabled notifications in the SMS conversation settings (Windows, macOS, Linux, Android, or iOS) and system-wide (Windows, macOS, Linux, Android, and iOS), you will receive notification:

  • If any members of the conversation have not responded or if you have responded to the conversation, you will see notifications.
  • When another member replies to claim the conversation, you will not receive a notification.

How to reply to a message and claim the conversation

The call queue or auto receptionist will send you a message asking whether you wish to claim the conversation. When you claim the conversation, other members are not allowed to reply to it. You can still see the conversation even if you don’t claim it.

Note:

After a period of inactivity of five minutes, reclaimed conversations are automatically released.

  1. Connect to Zoom using a desktop computer or a mobile device.
  2. From the menu, select the Phone tab.
  3. You will then see a section for SMS.
  4. A SMS conversation belonging to a call queue or automatic receptionist will appear when clicked. Under the caller ID of the sender, you will see the name of the call queue or auto receptionist.
  5. If you wish to respond to the conversation, just click on the Reply button.
    If you click on the button, a confirmation notification will appear.
    Note:
  6. If another phone user replies, you will be notified in the conversation thread.
  7. To reply, click Reply.
  8. Type your message.
  9. Press the Send button.
    • Desktop client:
    • Click on the Enter key.
    • Mobile app:
    • Use the send button to send the message.

Find out how to send an SMS message and how to have a conversation.

How to release a conversation

Members can claim and reply to a conversion after it is released.

  1. Log in to Zoom on your computer or mobile device.
  2. Navigate to the Phone tab by clicking or tapping on it.top of the screen.
  3. Choose the SMS tab by clicking or tapping on it.
  4. Tap on an SMS conversation in the call queue or an auto-receptionist to view the conversation in the call queue. There will be a name below the sender’s caller ID displayed in the call queue or on the auto receptionist display.
  5. Click on “Release” in the dialog box at the top of the message.
    There will be a pop-up notification asking for your confirmation.
  6. Simply click the Release button to proceed.
    Your conversation can be replied to by others. Unless they reply to the conversation to claim it, the other party will not see the caller ID.