Re-syncing phones and devices in Zoom

This post was most recently updated on July 28th, 2022

In order to pass Zoom settings from the Zoom web portal to the Zoom desk phones, you need to re-sync the desk phones. Make the following changes to the web portal after you have synced the desk phones:

  • Changed the settings on the desk phone
  • The settings for phones and devices at the account level have been changed
  • The call delegation and shared lines have been configured
  • The settings for the line keys have been changed
  • A provision template has been assigned or removed
  • A firmware update rule was created and selected for restarting with a re-sync or auto-pulling the next time the device is synced

Notes:

  • As part of the zero touch provisioning server, you are also able to re-sync desk phones.
  • In default settings, Poly and Yealink devices are equipped with a feature that allows them to receive the new provisioning without the need to restart the device. The device may, however, need to be restarted depending on how the settings have been changed.

Prerequisites for re-syncing phones and devices

  • A professional account, a business account, or an education account
  • Ownership or admin privileges of the account
  • License for Zoom Phone is required
  • Devices have been added and provisioned for Zoom Phone

How to re-sync all desk phones and common area phones in the account or site

  1. Using the Zoom web portal, sign in to your account.
  2. Select Phone System Management from the navigation menu and then select Phones & Devices from the drop-down menu.
  3. In the top right corner, you will find a link that says Resync by Account/Site.
  4. Choose one of the following options from the Target Device drop-down menu:
    • Account: The account needs to be re-synchronized with all of the phones in it.
    • Site: The phones on the site need to be re-synchronized. Select a site from the drop-down menu by using the drop-down menu at the top of the page.
  5. Then click on the Resync button.
    There will be a reboot of the desk phones.

How to re-sync one or a group of desk phones

  1. The Zoom web portal can be accessed by logging into your account.
  2. You will find Phone System Management under the navigation menu, then you will find Phones & Devices under the same menu.
  3. To select the device(s) to be used by the user, click the checkbox(es) at the left of the name of the phone(s).
  4. Click the Resync button on the top left of the screen.
  5. Click the Resync button in the pop-up dialog box that appears.
    There will be a reboot of the desk phone or phones.

How to re-sync a common area phone

Note: The common area phones have been migrated to the new Common Area tab in the Users & Rooms page if you have created a new Zoom account after May 21, 2022; or if the New Common Area Experience is enabled on your account. In this case, you will have to resync the device by going to the Phones & Devices page and finding the device there. There is also an alternative way to view a list of devices that are assigned to a common area by following these steps.

  1. The Zoom web portal can be accessed by logging into your account.
  2. Select Phone System Management from the navigation menu, followed by Users & Rooms from the drop-down menu.
  3. Select the Common Area tab on the left-hand side of the screen.
  4. The desk phone must be connected to a Common Area by clicking on the display name of the Common Area.
  5. To change the settings, click on the Settings tab.
  6. You can re-sync your desk phone(s) by clicking the display name of the phone in the Desk Phone(s) section.
  7. You need to click Resync next to Status, and then you need to confirm your decision by clicking Yes.
    After rebooting the desk phone, you will be able to use it again.