Using call delegation (client or app) In Zoom App

This post was most recently updated on July 23rd, 2022

Note: On September 28, 2019, a new feature called call delegation became available. This article covers that. Zoom support can upgrade your call delegation if you are using an old version.

Telephone users can assign others to take calls on their behalf using call delegation (also known as shared line appearance). One can, for example, grant their assistant the ability to make and receive calls on their behalf, allowing the assistant to act as the executive’s assistant.

Setting up call delegation is a prerequisite for following this article.

This article makes use of the following terms:

  • Delegators are phone users who assign phone privileges to other phone users or phones that are part of a common area. There is a limit of 15 delegates per delegate.
  • A delegate is someone who makes and receives calls on behalf of another on a common area phone. Delegates can be assigned to no more than 15 delegators.
  • Delegates can use shared lines if they have direct phone numbers owned by the delegate.

Also, provisioned desk phones can be used for call delegation. As part of the same call delegation setup, you can also monitor callers through call monitoring enabled by your admin.

Prerequisites for using call delegation on the desktop client or mobile app

  • Version 4.5.4 or higher of the Zoom desktop client for Windows and macOS
  • MacOS as well as version 4.5.5 or higher of the Zoom mobile app for Android and iOS
  • Zoom Phone license and calling package are required for the delegate and the delegate’s delegate
  • When setting up the Zoom web portal for call delegation
  • When your admin has enabled the delegation policy setting

 

How to select a shared line

Prior to making a phone call, the delegate or delegator can select a shared line.

Delegator

  • Open Zoom on either a desktop computer or a mobile device, then log in to it.
  • Then, select the Phone option.
  • Below the dial pad, tap or click the Caller ID menu.

If you have a direct phone number, you will see it along with the shared numbers. Look at your call delegation settings to find out who to contact about these shared lines.

Delegate

  • Sign in to Zoom on your desktop or on your mobile device.
  • Tap or click Phone.
  • Scroll down to the Caller ID menu and click or tap it.

Below the shared lines you will find the name of the delegator.

 

How to make a call (delegator)

The delegate can see that the delegator is using the shared line when the delegator makes a call after picking up a shared line.

Delegator

Call the shared line after selecting it.

Delegate

The number of the caller, the name of the delegation using the shared line, and the duration of the call can be viewed in the Lines tab.

How to make a call (delegate)

By selecting a shared line, the delegate can handle calls on behalf of the delegate. If the shared line is busy, the delegator will not be able to answer the calls.

Delegator

The Lines tab allows you to display a delegate’s name, the number to which they are calling, and the duration of their call by selecting this option.

 

Delegate

Call the shared line after selecting it.

 

How to receive a call

Each delegate and the delegate will receive a call notification when a call comes in to the shared line.

Delegator

The shared line number appears in the call notification.

Delegate

After Call for, the notification displays the delegator’s name.

Note: While hearing a notification about a call, the delegate or delegate can answer the call and place the previous call on hold when they receive the call notification.

 

How to transfer a call

The delegate or delegator can accept a call that is coming through a shared line, then transfer the call to each other if the call comes in through a shared line.

Note:

  • Here is a screenshot that shows the process of transferring a delegate to a delegater. Transferring from delegate to delegate can be achieved by following the same steps.
  • It is also possible to elevate the active call to the scheduled or immediate meeting of a delegate or delegator.

Desktop

  • Delegate: Use the call control buttons to hold the call.

  • Delegator: If you click the Lines tab of the dialling screen, you will be able to see the call that the delegates has placed on hold.

  • Delegator: To answer the call placed on hold, click the phone hold icon.
  • When the call has been completed, the delegate can either end the call manually, or if desired, select the phone icon on the Lines tab to transfer an existing call to that delegate (put the call on hold, then ask the delegates to accept the call).

Mobile

  • Delegate: To place the call on hold, tap the Hold button in the call controls.

  • Delegator: You can see the call the delegates has put on hold by tapping the Lines tab.

  • Delegator: Please answer the call on hold by clicking the phone hold icon.
  • If the call has completed, the delegate can terminate the call or transfer it back to the delegate using the same method (put the call on hold and use the Lines tab to instruct the delegate to answer the call).

 

How to transfer a call on a busy line

A delegate can still answer a call and transfer it if another delegate is busy on a call.

Note: Listed below are screenshots showing the process of transferring a delegation to a délégator. When transferring from a delegate to a delegate, the same steps should be followed.

Delegate

Please place the call on hold for the delegator and answer it on a busy shared line.

Delegator (currently on a call)

To view the call that has been placed on hold by the delegate, click on the Lines tab. You can answer the other call by clicking the hold icon. A hold will be placed on the current call.

 

How to view call history

All call history for shared lines can be viewed by delegates and delegators. Delegators or delegated users can only delete call history entries related to shared lines on behalf of the user who deleted them.

You can easily identify calls in the call history by the label on the entry:

Note: Web portal users cannot see these labels when viewing their call history.

Delegator

  • Whenever you make an outgoing call, no label is attached.
  • Outgoing by (delegate name) for you: The delegate used the shared phone line to make an outgoing call.
  • There will be no labels attached to your calls.
  • Answered by (delegate name) for you: Using a shared phone line, the delegate answered the call.

Delegate

  • Outgoing by (delegator name): A shared line was used to make the call.
  • Outgoing by you for (delegator name): You used a shared line for the outgoing call.
  • Answered by (delegator name): It was the delegator who answered the shared line call.
  • Answered by you for (delegator name): The call was answered by you on the shared line.

 

How to view call recordings

It is governed by the Delegate and Delegate policies. Therefore, if a delegate or delegate records a call on a shared line, then the call recording can only be accessed by that person.

It is possible to view the call recording in the History tab on the main screen of the application, if the delegator records a call whilst using a shared line:

There will be only one contact entry displayed to the delegate (not the recording of the conversation):

 

How to view voicemail inbox

It is possible for delegates and delegates to hear and delete voicemail messages left on shared landlines.

  • There is a possibility that a voicemail message will be deleted according to the privileges of the delegate or delegater who deleted the message.
  • The message will appear as a played message for all the other delegated and delegations if a delegate or delegation plays an unplayed voicemail message.
  • Using Zoom’s desktop client, mobile apps, or online portal, delegates will be able to view voicemail messages created by any delegate.

Delegator

A shared voicemail message appears as a regular voicemail message.

Delegate

The voicemail messages that have been sent from shared lines will be labeled with the delegate’s name to make it easier for you to distinguish them.

If you want to view voicemails only from shared lines, please follow the steps below:

  • Below the Voicemail tab, there is a drop-down menu for you to choose from.
  • Check the boxes if you only want to select the name of the person who left the voicemail.