Understanding the Attendee role in Expo in Zoom App

This post was most recently updated on July 28th, 2022

As part of Zoom Events, there is a feature called Expo which allows event organizers to create virtual exhibitions for their events that allow attendees to get the chance to meet different exhibitors and booths and learn more about their products and services.

With the expo floor, attendees are able to explore and network just like they would do in person, just as they would do in person. Expo floors are one of the best places to interact with exhibitors, visit product booths, network with other attendees, and network with the exhibitors.

In this article, we will discuss the following topics:

  • Attendee frequently asked questions about Expo
    • Do I need a special ticket or an invitation to enter the Expo?
    • How come I don’t see the Expo icon?
    • If the floor is at max capacity, will I be notified when there’s an open space?
    • How do I chat with someone in Expo?
    • How do I navigate around the Expo floor?
    • When are other avatars visible to me?
    • Who can see my virtual name tag information?
    • What happens to my chat after I leave Expo and come back at a later date or time?
    • Will my 1:1 Chat with another user be saved for future events?
    • Can I block another user from chatting with me?
    • Can I report a user in the 1:1 chat?

Attendee frequently asked questions about Expo

Do I need a special ticket or an invitation to enter the Expo?

It is not. If the event has Expo enabled, your registration to the event will give you access to Expo as soon as you register for the event.

Note: As a result, the start and end times for the expos may or may not be the same as the start and end times for the conference events.

How come I don’t see the Expo icon?

It is possible that the event you are attending is not a conference in the traditional sense. Presently, event organizers are only able to enable Expo for conference events, but only if they choose to do so.

Note:

There is the possibility of the conference event‘s organizers setting Expo to have a different start/end time than the conference event’s.

If the floor is at max capacity, will I be notified when there’s an open space?

As of right now, there is no notification system in place that lets users know when there is an open space. In order to check if you are able to enter, you will need to occasionally click the Expo tab.

How do I chat with someone in Expo?

In your virtual name tag, you will see a green section indicate that your avatar is available for networking. In addition, you will also see a green heading indicating that your avatar is available for networking. In the case of a disabled networking connection, your avatar will have a gray ring around it, and in addition, your virtual nametag will have a gray heading that reads Unavailable to Network.

If you see a green ring around the avatar of the other user, you can chat with them using the chat button in their profile as long as the user’s networking is turned on. In order to initiate a chat with the other party, you have to click on the Chat button. As an attendee, you are permitted to request a chat session with other attendees, sponsors, guest speakers, exhibitors, booth representatives, and many more. If you see a grey ring around the avatar of the other user (networking is turned off in their profile), you will not be able to see the Chat button in their profile if they have a gray ring around their avatar.

How do I navigate around the Expo floor?

If you are using a mouse or keyboard to navigate around Expo, you will be able to do so using either. As soon as you click on the location or the direction you wish to go, your avatar will move in the direction you selected. In addition, you can also move your avatar with the help of the keyboard arrow keys. It is possible to zoom in or out on the Expo floor with the mouse wheel, mouse pad, trackpad, and +/- keys as well as the two finger pinch.

When are other avatars visible to me?

As long as you have zoomed in to the Expo floor, you will be able to see other Attendees’ avatars along with your own at all times. When you click on the Near Me button, you will be able to see who is near you as well as which booths are nearby.

Who can see my virtual name tag information?

If you provide the information in some of the fields in the virtual name tag, you may be able to view it if it is publically visible to anyone in Expo who has access to the tag.

What happens to my chat after I leave Expo and come back at a later date or time?

You will be able to retain your 1:1 chats in Expo for as long as the event lasts in the chat list. There is no problem if you are having a chat conversation with another user, then you leave Expo and come back, as long as the other user remains in Expo you can continue the chat conversation. Leaving a chat message while the other user isn’t present and it is not known to them that the message has been left, they will not be aware of it until the other user returns to Expo and sees it.

Note: You will not be able to see the conversation in your Chat List until the person who you are chatting with re-joins Expo, if they have previously been chatting with you in Expo.

Will my 1:1 Chat with another user be saved for future events?

If you choose not to participate in the 1:1 chats, they will be deleted 30 days after the event is closed and will also not be visible in any future events.

Can I block another user from chatting with me?

It is true. Other users are able to block you from chatting with them. As soon as you block a user, you won’t be able to see your 1:1 chat and the other user won’t be able to send any messages to you via chat. You can block a user by opening the chat list and clicking the ellipses next to the user’s name. You can block an attendee from chatting with you by clicking on Block Attendee on the user’s profile page.

Note: A user who has been blocked cannot be unblocked once they have been blocked.

Can I report a user in the 1:1 chat?

You are able to report another user with whom you had a 1:1 chat if you wish to do so. When you are in a 1:1 chat conversation with the other user, hover over and click the ellipses to the right of the other user’s name. You will then be given the option to report the user.