Viewing cloud recordings is enabled by enabling authentication
In addition to that, via authentication, hosts are able to restrict a presentation’s viewership to only those who are logged in with Zoom and can even exclude Zoom users whose email addresses are associated with a given domain.
Viewers are thus unable to view recordings when they try to access them and fail to meet the defined authentication criteria, such as failing to sign in with the domain, or not being logged into the account. Instead, they will see this message: You cannot access this recording. There is no permission to access it.
Prerequisites for enabling authentication to view cloud recordings
- Account type: Pro, Business, Education, or Enterprise
- user with a license
- that allows cloud recording
How to enable users to authenticate to view cloud recordings
- You will need to log into the Zoom website.
- Click the Account Management link in the main navigation menu, and then click the Account Settings link.
- From the Account Settings window, select the Recording tab.
- The toggle to use Authenticate users before viewing cloud recordings can be found under Require users to authenticate before viewing.
- If a confirmation dialog appears, click Enable (if the change is enabled) or Disable (if it is disabled).
- (Optional) Alternatively, you may want to make this setting mandatory for all users in your account by clicking on the lock icon . In that case, you may click on Lock to confirm your choice.
- The Authentication Options page allows each authentication method to be added by clicking on the + Add Option button.
- Please enter your email address and password into the Zoom web portal in order to gain access to the Zoom web portal.
- You can access this page by clicking under the navigation menu on the left hand side User Management > Groups.
- From the list of available user groups on the left, you will be able to pick a user group to join as well as create a new group.
- You can select the Recording tab from the list of available options.
- When the Require users to authenticate before viewing cloud recordings button is clicked, it is possible to enable or disable the cloud recordings feature.
- It is possible to verify that whether changes have been made or not by clicking on the Enable or Disable buttons.
- Could this setting be made mandatory for all users of the account by clicking on the lock icon and choosing Lock to confirm the setting with all users, if so, could this be done?
- Click on Edit or Hide in the Selection column if you need to change the name of the authentication option or if you want it to be hidden depending on your requirements.
- Access Zoom’s web portal by signing into your account.
- You will then see a menu that will allow you to change your profile settings.
- Select the Recording tab on the left-hand side of the screen.
- You can enable or disable the Require users to authenticate before viewing cloud recordings by clicking the toggle Switch on or off.
- You would be prompted with a confirmation dialog that will ask you to verify the change by clicking Enable or Disable.
- You may edit the name, or you may hide the option as desired, in the Authentication Options, by clicking Edit or Hide.
Note: The grayed out option indicates that either the account or the group has locked it, so this is what you see when you see it there. It is likely that you will have to contact an administrator of Zoom if this is the case.
Read it also –
How to enable authentication for users to view a specific cloud recording
- If you are logged into your Zoom account, you can access the Zoom web portal.
- You can view all the available options by selecting Account Management in the left-hand navigation menu, followed by Recording Management in the right-hand navigation menu.
- Clicking the Share icon when you find the recording you wish to share will give you all the options you will need.
- If you want to enable the Share this cloud recording pop-up window, in the Share this cloud recording pop-up window, you will need to toggle the Only authenticated users can view box.
- In the drop-down menu, you can select the authenticated users that will have access to view the cloud recordings.
- By clicking the toggle buttons below you will be able to enable or disable these options:
- You can set an expiration date for the links, if you wish
- viewers from downloading them after their expiration date has passed
- since they cannot be viewed after their expiration date has passed
- Regardless of whether they enrolled to view the recordings on demand after their expiration date has passed
Note: All users must register before they can view these recordings.
- Registration is required in order to view password-protected recordings.
- There are many options when it comes to sharing information, such as showing or hiding a recording’s details depending on whether you want the information to be shared with others. It is also possible to copy the information about sharing.
- You can also copy the information about sharing.
- Log into the Zoom web portal by signing in with your email address and password.
- On the left-hand side of the page, click on Recordings.
- Select the Cloud Recording tab from the drop-down menu.
- Then, click on the name of the recording that you would like to view.
- Click on the Share button.
- Click the Only authenticated users can view toggle to enable the sharing of this cloud recording under the Share this cloud recording pop-up window.
- Select the authenticated users who have permission to view the recordings in the dropdown menu.
- By clicking the following toggle buttons, you can make the following changes:
- Make the link expire at a specific date
- after which viewers can download
- any transcripts that have been posted
- along with the recordings (registration is required)
Note: Registration is required in order to watch this recording.
- A passcode will be required in order to watch this recording.
- The Sharing Information tab can be used to express to the recording’s information that will be shared whether to show or hide it. The Sharing Information can also be copied.
- Click Done.
Frequently Asked Questions
How do I change the authentication on Zoom?