At the outset, it is a good idea to enable authentication profiles for all of your account members while you configure the profiles. In order to join a Zoom meeting if the option Only authenticated users can join meetings is selected, participants will first need to sign in before they can join. It can be very useful if you wanted to limit your participant list to verified users, users from a certain organization, or users who belong to a particular nationality.
In case you do not want this setting to be applicable to all members of your account once the profiles have been configured, you can disable it at the account level.
Note: If this option is enabled, users without a Zoom account will be unable to join a meeting or webinar if they do not have a Zoom account.
What are the prerequisites for allowing only authenticated users to participate in meetings?
- Pro, Business, Education, or Enterprise account
- Zoom desktop client:
- Windows: 5.0.0 (23168.0427) or higher
- macOS: 5.0.0 (23161.0427) or higher
- Zoom mobile app:
- Android: 5.0.0 (23161.0427) or higher
- iOS: 5.0.0 (23161.0427) or higher
How to enable or disable Only authenticated users can join meetings
Only authenticated users will be able to join meetings for all users in the account if this feature is enabled or disabled:
- You will be able to edit your account settings if you are a Zoom administrator by logging into the Zoom web portal and choosing the Account Settings option.
- Select Account Management and then Account Settings from the navigation menu.
- When you are in the Security screen, you will have the option of enabling or disabling the option to allow only authenticated users to join meetings.
- By clicking on the Enable or Disable button, you will be able to verify that the changes have been made by showing the verification dialog.
- Click the lock icon to confirm the setting, then click Lock to confirm it when you have finished. (Optional) If you want to make this setting mandatory for your entire account, click the lock icon.
Authenticated users only can join meetings for groups of users when the meeting is enabled or disabled:
- Please sign in to the Zoom web portal using an account that has the privilege of editing groups as an admin.
- Once you have clicked the User Management link, go to the Group Management link.
- Once you have selected the appropriate group, click the Join button.
- To enable or disable this feature, click the toggle next to Only authenticated users can join meetings under Security.
- To verify that the change has been made, you will need to click on the Enable or Disable button if a verification dialog appears.
- You may (optionally) make this setting mandatory for all group members by clicking the lock icon on the toolbar, and then clicking Lock again to confirm the settings.
You can only allow authenticated users to join meetings for yourself if you enable or disable this:
- Log on to the Zoom web portal by entering your email address and password.
- Once you have done so, click on the Settings tab.
- Next, select the Meetings option.
- Under Security, you can select Only authenticated users can join meetings if you wish to enable or disable this feature.
- To verify the change, if you see a dialog box where you can enable or disable the change, click Enable or Disable.
- It means that either the account or group has locked this feature. Grayed out options mean that the feature has been disabled. Please contact your Zoom administrator if you need to use this feature.
How to use Meeting Authentication Options
Account owners and admins have the option to change Meeting Authentication Options if they wish to do so. This authentication configuration can be used to only invite participants who are verified by you and come from trusted domains. Additionally, it can be used to secure meetings that include attendees from different companies. The following authentication methods can be selected by account owners and admins:
- Signed-in users in my account:
- This feature allows any user in the account who is signed in to join the meeting or webinar.
- Sign in to Zoom with specified domain:
- In this feature you can specify a rule that allows Zoom users whose email addresses contain a particular domain to join the meeting or webinar. The user has the option of adding multiple domains, using a comma between them, as well as including a wildcard in the list of domains. A CSV file can also be uploaded with the domains listed.
- Sign in to external Single Sign-On (SSO):
- Provides you with the option to specify rules that force users to authenticate via a third-party authentication service when they access the site.
Configure Meeting Authentication Options
- At the account or group level, only users who are authenticated can join meetings.
- Then click the Add Configurations link next to Meeting Authentication Options.
- To help users identify the authentication method for the meeting, type in a name for the authentication method under Give a name for users to recognize it.
- Then click the drop-down list to select the authentication method.
- Make sure you complete all the required fields.
- Click Save.
Note: If you wish, you can add additional authentication methods by clicking Edit Configuration.
Read it also –
|Allow List For Smart Virtual Background For Linux And Windows In Zoom|
|Allow Camera With Kaspersky In Zoom App|
|How To Configure The Citrix Virtual Channel Allow List Policy For Zoom|
Frequently Asked Questions
What does only authenticated users can join meetings mean?
Using the security feature, Only authenticated users can join web-based meetings, you can restrict the number of people who can participate in meetings or webinars based on who is signed in to your account.
Why does Zoom say this meeting requires authentication?
When a meeting or webinar participant attempts to join and they are not logged into Zoom, they will be prompted to sign in as soon as they attempt to join the meeting or webinar. In the case that the participant has signed in with the wrong specified email domain, they will be prompted to switch to the correct domain in order to join the meeting.
How do I restrict Zoom participants?
Using Zoom’s web portal, you will need to sign in. You can access your Account Settings by clicking on Account Management in the navigation menu. To access the Meeting tab, click on it. During the advanced meeting settings, under In Meeting (Advanced), select the option Restrict users from using selected features when joining a meeting from the advanced section of the meeting settings.
What does Zoom mean by authenticated users?
Authentication profiles are a great way for hosts to restrict meeting participants and webinar attendees to Zoom users who have already signed in, and can even restrict them further to Zoom users who have matching email addresses.
What does only authenticated users can view cloud recordings in Zoom?
By using authentication, hosts are able to restrict access to cloud recording viewing by participants to those participants who are logged into Zoom, and even restrict access to Zoom users whose email addresses use a certain domain name to only those participants.