Restrict in-meeting features for users joining Zoom meetings

This post was most recently updated on July 28th, 2022

When members or hosts are joining or hosting an internal meeting, administrators have the option to restrict which features are available in-meeting. As an alternative, administrators can also enable policies under the follow user in-meeting policy to disable certain features when joining a meeting that might be available to others in the meeting, even if they are the start participant. In addition to these restrictions, there are also features that restrict users on your account to doing things like transferring files, sharing their screen, using/watching in-meeting chat, using annotations in screen shares, sharing whiteboards, recording meetings, viewing/typing closed captions, and so on. In the event that the policy is enabled, the user will be able to join or host Zoom meetings on any device they log into it from, regardless of what device they login with.

Prerequisites for restricting in-meeting features when joining meetings

  • Choose from a Pro account, a Business account, an Education account, or an Enterprise account
  • Ownership or admin privileges of an account
  • Zoom Support must enable this setting in order for it to work
  • Desktop client for Zoom
    • Windows: 5.8.3 or a higher version
    • A macOS version of 5.8.3 or higher is required
    • The Linux distribution must be at least 5.8.3
  • App Zoom for mobile devices
    • Android: Version 5.8.3 or higher is required
    • A version of iOS that is at least 5.8.3 is required
  • You will need at least 5.8.3 of the VDI client in order to run it
  • Client for Zoom’s web interface

Restricting external in-meeting features at the Account level

  1. To access Zoom’s web portal, you will need to sign in.
  2. You can access Account Settings by clicking on Account Management in the navigation menu.
  3. Select the Meeting tab on the left side of the screen.
  4. Click on the option Restrict users from using selected features when they join a meeting under In Meeting (Advanced).
  5. Select the features you wish to restrict by clicking on the Select Features button.
  6. To restrict the use of a particular feature, select the check box next to it:
    • Chat-This setting prevents the user from using the in-meeting chat feature while in the meeting.
    • Meeting polls- The ability to participate in polling during a meeting is restricted.
    • Webinar polls- Limits the number of people who can participate in the webinar polling.
    • Webinar survey- This feature restricts the participation of attendees in the post-webinar surveys that will be presented.
    • File transfer- While in a meeting, the use of transferring files is restricted.
    • Screen sharing- The user is not allowed to share their screen during the meeting due to this restriction.
    • Annotation- The user is not allowed to annotate during a screen sharing session, as it restricts the ability to annotate.
    • Whiteboard- The user will not be able to share a whiteboard during a meeting due to this restriction.
    • Nonverbal feedback – In the course of a meeting, it is restricted to the use of non-verbal feedback.
    • Meeting reactions -During a meeting, you are not allowed to use meeting reactions during the meeting.
    • Remote control- The remote control feature can be used when joining a meeting, but is restricted from being used during that meeting.
    • Q&A Webinar-The ability to participate in Q&A during webinars is restricted.
    • Remote support- During a meeting, it is not permitted to use Remote support sessions due to security concerns.
    • Local recording- In-meeting local recording sessions cannot be started by the user if he or she is in the meeting.
    • Closed captioning- During a meeting, you will no longer be able to start Closed captioning while the meeting is in progress.
  7. Select when the feature restriction should be applied under the Restrict use of this feature in section:
    • All Meetings- If a user joins an internal meeting or an external meeting, this feature will be disabled.
    • External Meetings only- Allows a user to disable the feature when he or she joins an external meeting.
    • Note: The settings that are applied to internal meetings will still be applied when you join an internal meeting.
  8. To lock a feature restriction, click on the , that appears under Locked.
    Note:When the restriction is set to All Meetings and the restriction is locked, then all the in-meeting settings that have been set at the User, Group, or Account level will be overridden if the restriction is set to All Meetings.
  9. Please click on the Save button to save your changes.

Restricting external in-meeting features at the Group level

  1. Ensure that you have logged into the Zoom web portal with the privilege of editing groups as an admin.
  2. Click User Management in the navigation menu and then click Group Management in the submenu.
  3. From the list of groups, click on the name of the relevant group.
  4. Go to the Meetings tab and click on it.
  5. You can restrict users from using certain features when they join a meeting under the In Meeting (Advanced) section of the meeting settings.
  6. If you click on Select Features, you will be able to select the features that you would like to restrict.
  7. If you want to restrict a feature, you need to check the box next to it:
    • Chat- It prevents the user from using the in-meeting chat feature during the meeting.
    • Meeting polls- It limits the number of people who can participate in the polling during the meeting.
    • Webinar polls– Participation in webinar polls is restricted by this feature.
    • Webinar survey- Limits the number of people who can participate in the webinar survey at the end of the webinar.
    • File transfer- During a meeting, you will not be able to transfer files while you are in a meeting.
    • Screen sharing- During the course of the meeting, the user will not be able to share their screen.
    • Annotation- Annotations cannot be made during screen sharing, which prevents the user from being able to make any annotations.
    • Whiteboard- The user is not allowed to share a whiteboard during the meeting if this option is selected.
    • Nonverbal feedback – During the meeting, it is prohibited to use any form of nonverbal feedback during the meeting.
    • Meeting reactions – During the course of a meeting, meeting reactions are not allowed to be used.
    • Remote control- You will not be able to use the remote control feature when you join a meeting if you have this setting enabled.
    • Q&A Webinar- During webinars, participation in Q&A is restricted.
    • Remote support- During a meeting, remote support sessions are not allowed to be used during the meeting.
    • Local recording- When the user is in the middle of a meeting, it is prohibited for the user to start a local recording session.
    • Closed captioning– Closed captioning cannot be started while you are in a meeting, so this feature disables that ability.
  8. You will need to select the appropriate times when the feature restriction should be applied under the Restrict use of this feature in section:
    • All Meetings- In the event that a user joins an internal or external meeting, the feature is disabled.
    • External Meetings only- If the user joins an external meeting, the feature will be disabled.
    • Note: When joining internal meetings, the settings for internal meetings will still apply when joining them.
  9. If you wish to lock the feature restriction, click on the , under Locked.
    Note: The restriction will override any settings set by the user at the level of the meeting if the restriction is set to All Meetings, and if the restriction is locked.
  10. Then click on the Save button.