This post was most recently updated on July 28th, 2022
How do cloud recordings get deleted when either (1) users delete their cloud recordings, or (2) an account admin deletes the user’s cloud recordings
There are two ways to delete cloud recording files in this article: (1) a user may delete their cloud recording files, (2) an account administrator may delete a user from the cloud recording system.
User deletes cloud recording files
A user can choose how and when their recording files will be deleted when they delete their recording files and how they want them to be deleted when doing so: [all recording files for the meeting, or particular recording files].
|Feature and setting||Feature description||Result if feature enabled||Result if feature disabled|
|The Trash folder||creates a schedule to store files for deletion while still allowing them to be temporarily recovered from the trash folder.||The user can recover the deleted recordings for 30 days after they have been moved to the trash folder.
In less than 24 hours, the recordings will be removed from the trash folder after 30 days have passed.
It will be impossible to recover these recordings after this action has taken place.
|It is recommended that deleted recordings are moved to the Trash folder directly within 24 hours.
Files that are moved to the Trash folder after that time cannot be recovered.
|There is a feature that automatically deletes files after the specified number of days, andThere is also the option to delete files in the trash.||When a specified period of time has passed, the recording files will be automatically deleted to the trash.||For a period of 30 days, all deleted recordings files will be automatically moved to the trash folder after they have been deleted for the specified number of days.
Recording files will be removed within 24 hours of the expiration date of these 30 days from the trash folder.
Once this action has been completed, the files cannot be retrieved.
|Once the deletion has been completed, the files will be placed in the trash folder for a period of 30 days.
After 30 days, the deleted recording field will move into a state of permanent deletion where this record will be permanently erased within 24 hours.
These files are unable to be recovered once this action is completed.
The administrator deletes the user’s account
|It is possible for an admin through a call to the API or a web portal to delete a User, but does not specify the option parameter that permits the users recording files to be transferred to another licensed user in the same Zoom account.||There will be a permanent deletion of the user’s recording files within 24 hours of their being placed in a permanent deletion state.
The files will not be able to be recovered after this point.
|Admins delete users through the web portal or by using an API call, and these users’ recording files are sent to another licensed user on the Zoom account after the deletion is completed.||The recipients of the transferred recordings will have access to the recorded files.|