Managing settings in the New Admin Experience in Zoom App

This post was most recently updated on July 28th, 2022

Management of user groups (old experience)

Important: We promise that there will not be any downtime during the migration process, but there may be a delay in the date when the New Admin Experience becomes available on your account. A notification email will be sent to you once the migration is complete. The new Admin Experience offers the ability to merge IM Groups with User Groups, so that they appear as Groups in the Admin experience. It is important to only follow this article if your account has not been enabled yet for the New Admin Experience. Should your account have been enabled already, follow the directions in the updated user groups article.

You have the option of managing groups of users in your account in order to turn on or off different settings for all members of that group. It is also possible to designate group admins who will be able to manage the members and settings for the group as appropriate. Group admins can also check if the group they manage is designated as the primary group for both themselves and the members of their group. It does not matter if the administrator of the group is an account administrator or has role permissions to edit user groups.

In addition to being able to toggle settings on and off, they are also able to be locked to a particular user. They can be adjusted by an individual user if they are not locked for an account or group. See the “Tierred Settings” section for more details.

As a group administrator you can also manage all the settings and members of a group. Also, the group admins can check if the group they are managing is set as the primary group for all the members of the group. In order for the group administrator to edit user groups, he or she does not need to be a member of the account administration team.

Also, you can create IM groups and assign those groups to your users in the Contacts tab of the desktop client as well as the mobile app, which displays those groups in the All Contacts tab.

Managing groups and setting settings at the group level requires a few prerequisites

  • There are three types of accounts: Pro, Business, and Education.
  •  The account owner or administrator has the following privileges:

How to add a new group

  1. You will need to sign in to the Zoom web portal if you have not done so already.
  2. Click User Management followed by Group Management on the navigation panel.
  3. To add a group, click Add Group at the top right of the page.
  4. To add a group, enter the name of the group as well as the description.
  5. Press the Add button.
    Once added, this group will appear in your list of groups.

Setting up the admins of a group

  1. Join the Zoom web portal by logging in.
  2. On the left-hand side of the Zoom web portal, click User Management, then click Group Management.
  3. Locate the group you want to set admins for on the left-hand side of the Zoom portal.
  4. Click the plus (+) icon next to Group Admins when you are under the Members section.
  5. If you are setting up a group, you will need to enter the names or email addresses of some users who should be appointed as group administrators.
  6. You can add them by clicking on Add.

Managing the group admin permissions of a group

The scope and permissions assigned to a role can be changed at any time by changing the permissions. It is possible for admins to configure a custom scope in Role Management in order to manage users, Dashboards, Reports, and cloud recordings for meetings and webinars at a group level.

You can easily add new members to your group by following these steps:

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal by using your email address and password.
  2. Click on Users under User Management in the navigation panel.
  3. If you want to include each user in the group, check the box next to his name.
  4. Once the list of users is displayed, click the group button.
  5. Once you have verified the group list, click the Save button.
  6. Select the user group from the drop-down menu under the User Group heading.
  7. Then click the Save button.

Create a CSV file and upload it

Admins and account owners are also able to upload a CSV file for the purpose of importing a group of users. When editing users through a CSV upload, users can manage user group information by adding, changing, updating, or deleting the information.

How to set the primary group of a user

In order to define the user’s default settings, one needs to define his primary group.

  1. Log in to the Zoom web portal by entering your username and password.
  2. On the left side of the screen, click User Management, followed by Group Management.
  3. On the list of groups, choose the appropriate group to work with.
  4. You will then find the number next to the name of the group in the Members section.
  5. In order to set the primary group for a specific user, click the ellipsis icon next to their name.
  6. Click on the “Set as Primary Group” button.
  7. Please make sure that by clicking Save, you are confirming that you wish to set this group as the primary group for the user.

The steps involved in changing the advanced group management settings

  1. Log on to the Zoom web portal by entering your email address and password.
  2. After logging in, click on the Users link in the User Management menu.
  3. From there, select Advanced from the drop down menu.
  4. Then, scroll down to the section named Change User Group and do some configuration as follows:
    • Set default user group: This setting will be applied to all the users added to your account from now on.
    • Switch user group: You will be able to change the user’s group from one to another.
    • Add domain users to group: To add all users who have an email address at a managed domain to a specific group, please follow these instructions.

How to change meeting, recording, and audio conference settings for a group

  1. Login to the Zoom web portal by entering your Zoom username and password.
  2. You will find the User Management and Group Management links in the left-side menu.
  3. Select the group you want to manage from the list.
    Meetings, Recordings, and Audio Conferencing are the tabs that are primarily used to adjust the settings.
  4. You can toggle an option on or off by clicking on it.
  5. Locking a setting is as simple as clicking on the lock icon. A setting that has been locked will not be able to be modified by the group members individually.
    Note: It is also possible to lock settings at the level of the account. To do this, simply click the lock icon on the setting. Account settings will only allow you to change a setting if it has been locked at the account level.

There are also additional settings available for groups

The following setting options are available to the users in addition to the meeting, recording, and audio conference settings:

Note:

It is necessary to meet certain prerequisites in order to use some of the settings. The article on the setting will explain if your account meets the prerequisites to use the setting, so if you do not see it listed for your group, review the article.

Meeting tab

  • In Meeting (Advanced)
    • The background is a virtual one
    •  you are able to display a custom disclaimer when you start a meeting or join one
  • Invitation Email Branding:You can edit the email template by clicking Edit. Click here for more information about the meeting invitation template.
  • Note: You can also customize additional email templates if you already have a vanity URL for your site.
  • Other
    • Allow users to contact Zoom’s Support via Chat: A floating Help button will appear in the right-hand corner of the web portal in order to access Zoom Support live.
    • Require users to update the client: We are requesting that old versions of Zoom, that are still in use, are updated to the minimum client versions mentioned below. The account level can also be changed in order to do this.

Recording tab

  • Prevent hosts from accessing their cloud recordings: It is important not to allow hosts access to their cloud recordings during a meeting. Cloud recordings can only be accessed by admins who have recording management privileges.
  • Cloud recording downloads: The cloud recording has the ability to be downloaded by anyone with the link to the recording.

Zoom Phone tab

The Zoom Phone policy settings at the group level can be viewed here.