Participation in the Zoom Breakout Room

With breakout room

It is a session divided from Zoom meeting. Participants will be able to attend smaller group meetings.

You can use it to collaborate and discuss with each other during the meeting.

To use the breakout room

  • Join a meeting from the Zoom desktop client, mobile app, phone, Zoom Room
  • Invitation to join breakout room from meeting host

Note: If you join a meeting from the web, H.323 or SIP device, you can not join the breakout room.

How to use breakout room

Mac, PC, Linux

Join the breakout room

  1. The host needs to invite participants to the breakout room.
  2. Click “Join”.
  3. If you select Later, you can join by clicking the Breakout Room option in the meeting settings.
  4. Click Join Breakout Room.

Participation in the breakout room

Joining the breakout room gives you all the same functionality as a meeting.

Available features:

  • Mute / Unmute
  • Start / stop video
  • Participant- View Participant List
  • Sharing screen- Click here for details on “screen sharing”.
  • Cam – Bed and enter a message to the other participants in the Lake-out room.
  • Record-The breakout room can be recorded locally if the host allows the recording permission. The details of “local record” are here.
  • Request Help-Request help from the meeting host.

Request help

When you click Request Help, the meeting host is notified that you need help.

The host is asked to join the breakout room.

  1. Click Request Help in the meeting control.
  2. Click Invite Host to confirm that you need support.

Leave the breakout room

You can leave the breakout room at any time and return to your original main meeting session.

You can also leave the meeting completely when you leave the breakout room.

  1. Click Leave Breakout Session
  2. Choose whether you want to leave the breakout room or want to leave the meeting completely.
  3. When the host exits the breakout room, you will be notified of the option to return to the main room immediately, or after 60 seconds.

Participation in the breakout room

Joining the breakout room gives you all the same functionality as a meeting.

Available features:

  • Mute / Unmute
  • Video start / stop]
  • Participant- View Participant List
  • Sharing screen- Click here for details on screen sharing .
  • Chat- Enter a message to other participants in the breakout room.
  • Request Help-Request help from the meeting host.

Request help

When you click Request Help, the meeting host is notified that you need help, and the host is asked to join the breakout room.

  1. Tap Ask for Help.
  2. Click Invite Host to confirm that you need support.

Blake exiting the out room

You can always leave the breakout room and return to your original main meeting session. Or you can leave the meeting completely when you leave the breakout room.

  1. Tap Exit.
  2. Choose whether you want to leave the breakout room or want to leave the meeting completely.
  3. When the breakout room is finished, you will be notified of the option to return to the host room immediately or after 60 seconds.

iPhone · Android 

Join the breakout room

  1. The organizer has to invite participants to the breakout room.
  2. Tap Join.
  3. If you select Later, you can join by clicking the Join breakout room option in Meeting Controls.

Participation in the breakout room

Joining the breakout room gives you all the same functionality as a meeting.

Available features:

  • Mute / Unmute
  • Video start / stop]
  • Participant- View Participant List
  • Sharing screen- Click here for details on screen sharing.
  • Cam – Bed and enter a message to the other participants in the Lake-out room.
  • Request Help-Request help from the meeting host.

Request help

When you click Request Help, the meeting host is notified that you need help, and the host is asked to join the breakout room.

  1. Tap Ask for Help.
  2. Click Invite Host to confirm that you need support.

Leave the breakout room

You can always leave the breakout room and return to your original main meeting session.

You can also leave the meeting completely when you leave the breakout room.

  1. Tap Exit.
  2. Choose whether you want to leave the breakout room or want to leave the meeting completely. 
  3. [Return to main session] … Exit the breakout room and return to the meeting room. 
  4. [Exit meeting] ……….. Exit from the meeting completely.
  5. When the breakout room is finished, you will be notified of the option to return to the host room immediately or after 60 seconds.