Setting up call monitoring In Zoom App

This post was most recently updated on August 1st, 2022

Note: 

Default settings disable call monitoring.

Firstly, admins can turn on monitoring of calls and then add groups that can use functions including listening, whispering, barging, and taking over. Zoom Phone users, on the condition that Zoom Phone admin has granted them permission, can use the call monitoring feature on other Zoom Phone users, shared line groups, common area phones, and call queues.

As an illustration of possible use cases, the following scenarios have been proposed:

  • Front desk receptionist:
  • It is quite possible that a receptionist can barge in on an employee when the employee is on another call and tell them about an important call that has come through.
  • Call center supervisor:
  • If a supervisor finds that an agent is not providing high-quality service to a customer, he or she can silently observe and barge in to assist.
  • Group trainer:
  • When a group trainer listens to a customer call with an agent, he or she can whisper something helpful in the agent’s ear to advise them on how to handle the customer.

Prerequisites for setting up call monitoring

  • The owner of the account or the administrator of the account
  • Has a license for Zoom Phone

If you are interested in more information on the prerequisites for using call monitoring, please refer to the user guide.

Call monitoring features

The following features are included in call monitoring:

  • Listen:
  • Listen to a conversation without the other party being aware.
  • Whisper:
  • Communicate with a phone user without letting other parties know.
  • Barge:
  • Make sure all parties are on the call. This will be a three-way conversation.
  • Take over:
  • The call will be taken over by Zoom Phone.
  • Conference Barge:
  • Join a group call over shared lines. This gives multiple members of a shared line group the possibility of barging into a call that has been received by that group, irrespective of who answered the phone. The maximum number of participants on a call is 10. The phone user must have a version of the client or app 5.8.0 or higher in order to use this feature.
    Note:
  • In order to use this feature you must set up a shared line group in order to enable call monitoring. By checking this box, no other call monitoring options are available.

Limitations of call monitoring

When setting up call monitoring, you should be aware of the following limitations:

  • To each call monitoring group, you can assign 100 monitors and 100 monitored phone users.
  • Call monitoring groups can include multiple phone users, but monitors and monitoreds cannot be duplicated. It is not possible to create a new group with Grant as a monitor and Carly as a telephone user who can be monitored, for example, if Grant (a monitor) and Carly (a monitored user) are in group A.
  • The phones will restart if the monitoring privileges are changed to someone’s account and they have desk phones attached to their accounts.
  • It is possible to monitor common area phones, but they will not be monitoring the account.

How to enable or disable call monitoring

  1. To access the Zoom online portal, sign in using your Zoom user name and password.
  2. Go to Account Management and then Account Settings from the navigation menu.
  3. Select Zoom Phone from the list of options.
  4. Toggle Monitoring on or off.

How to add groups that can use call monitoring

Creating Contacts and Channels . You can add contacts, create contact groups of phone users that will be able to use the feature after enabling call monitoring is the next step. The groups contain the following information:

  • Monitors:
  • Users of a phone who can monitor the calls of other users of a phone.
  • Monitored:
  • Monitoring of users of a mobile phone.
  1. Please log in to your Zoom account through the web portal.
  2. Click Phone System Management, which is the second option on the navigation menu.
  3. Then click Add.
  4. The following information should be entered:
    • Type:
    • This allows you to select which extensions should be monitored.
      Note:
    • After adding a monitoring group, you cannot change its type.
      • Users & Common Area Phones:
      • This feature allows you to assign specific mobile devices to monitor other mobile devices and common area phones.
      • Call Queues:
      • Specifically, the phone users who will monitor the call queues should not make or receive calls from the call queue’s direct number or extension (only if they have an opportunity to monitor that number or extension).
      • Shared Line Groups:
      • This can be done by allowing all users of a shared line group to observe one another (if a user being monitored calls or receives a call from an extension, telephone number or direct number belonging to the group).
      • Shared Line Appearance:
      • When a call delegation set up is used (also known as shared line appearance), it would be great if it were possible for a phone user (executive and assistant) to monitor each other directly.
    • Name:
    • In order to help identify the group, it is advisable to give it a name.
    • Site (only visible if you enabled multiple sites):
    • Click on the site where you would like this group to be assigned.
      Note:
    • This group can also be added to by users from other sites if they have access to mobile devices.
    • Monitors:
    • The telephone monitoring service can be accessed by the members of your call queue or by the phone users who are requesting access.
      • In the event that the type of the call queue is set to Call Queues, the default monitor is the user who has been set up to monitor it by default. In the event that a queue member does not exist in this setting, you will need to manually select that member.
      • Only members of the same shared line group will be able to monitor each other if the Type of the line group is set to Shared line groups. Adding more than one shared line group does not guarantee that all of the members in the shared line group can monitor and communicate with their shared line group members.
      • You can only have two persons from the same company monitor each other when you select the Shared Line Appearance option in the call delegation setup.
    • Privileges:
    • During the call delegation setup, select which features the monitors are permitted to use.
    • Monitored:
    • You can choose to monitor certain users of the phone or specific phones in the common area.
      • Call queues will be automatically added here if you set the Type to Call Queues.
    • Prompt:
    • The call may be monitored if a disclaimer prompt is enabled or disabled. After clicking Save, this setting becomes visible.
      • Conference Barge Tone:
      • During call monitoring, when you select Conference Barge for a shared line group, you can ensure that a tone is played whenever a member barges into the conversation.
  5. Then click Save.

Notes:

  • As a result, the desk phones associated with the changes will automatically restart. It is possible for the desk phones to restart several times at the same time.
  • In the monitor’s line key settings, a new line key will be added automatically called BLF (Monitoring). With this key, you can view the monitor’s call status directly from the desk phone.

How to edit a call monitoring group

You can edit the members and settings of a call monitoring group once it has been created.

  1. The web portal for Zoom can be accessed after logging in.
  2. After clicking on Phone System Management from the navigation menu, you will then be directed to the Monitoring section.
  3. To edit a group, simply click the display name next to it.
  4. To rename the group, click Rename at the bottom of the page.
  5. You can find more information on how to edit the group’s settings in the previous section.